grandfather and grandson

$17,000 in Healthcare Scholarships Awarded by Mission Regional Medical Center

$17,000 in Healthcare Scholarships Awarded by Mission Regional Medical Center


Front Row (L-R): Miguel Garza, Nadia Gomez, Jennifer Shepherd, Brittany Bazaldua, Ariana Castillo, Alyssa Gutierrez, Krista-Bella Carlos and Lisset Gonzalez. Middle Row (L-R): Diego Bustillos, Rosa Gonzalez, Ivanna Castañeda, Alejandra Garcia, Sofia Chavez, Marlin Garcia, Ilse Puente and Adriana Serna. Back Row (L-R): Carlos Treviño, Chief Operating Officer; Kennetha Foster, Chief Nursing Officer; Javier Iruegas, Chief Executive Officer and Tim McVey, Chief Financial Officer.

Mission Regional Medical Center (MRMC) and the MRMC Medical Staff awarded $17,000 in scholarships to high school seniors from the Mission area and surrounding communities. The MRMC scholarships are awarded annually to seventeen outstanding students interested in pursuing a career in health care.

Participating schools include Mission, Sharyland, Veterans Memorial, La Joya, Pioneer, Juarez-Lincoln and Palmview High Schools. Juan Diego Academy and Jimmy Carter Early College High School are also among the recipient schools.

Academic performance, financial need and extra-curricular activities determine the winners of the $1,000 scholarship. A one-page essay is also required.

Recipients of the 17 - Mission Regional Medical Center Scholarships are:

  • Alejandra Garcia (Jimmy Carter Early College High School)
  • Lisset Gonzalez (Jimmy Carter Early College High School)
  • Ariana Castillo (Juan Diego Academy)
  • Sofia Chavez (Juarez-Lincoln High School)
  • Marlin Garcia (Juarez-Lincoln High School)
  • Adriana Serna (La Joya High School)
  • Ilse Puente (La Joya High School)
  • Diego Bustillos (Mission High School)
  • Rosa Gonzalez (Mission High School)
  • Krista-Bella Carlos (Palmview High School)
  • Alyssa Gutierrez (Palmview High School)
  • Nadia Gomez (Pioneer High School)
  • Jennifer Shepherd (Pioneer High School)
  • Ivana Castañeda (Sharyland High School)
  • Miguel Garza (Sharyland High School)
  • Brittany Bazaldua (Veterans Memorial High School)
  • Karina Farias (Veterans Memorial High School)

Mission Regional Medical Center and its Medical Staff congratulate the dedication of these exceptional students and encourage their career in the health care industry.

Categories: News